An insight into the history of Ryan Catholic College, Kirwan

In 1978, planning for a co-educational, integrated primary and secondary school began – a completely new concept for Catholic Education in the Townsville Diocese.   

The school opened on 30 January 1979 with 74 boys and girls in Years 1, 2, 3 and 8. The first Principal was Mr Barry Taylor who led a staff of five. 

The College is named after Bishop Hugh Ryan the former, long serving Bishop of the Townsville Diocese and was originally known as Ryan Catholic Community School. 

It has now grown to cater for an enrolment of 1,964 students and has welcomed a second generation to continue the school’s strong community focus. 

INTERESTING FACT: The car park for the Junior Campus is shared with Dairy Farmers Stadium – The home of the North Queensland Cowboys and the Northern Fury Football Club. 

To find out more about the history of Ryan Catholic College click here.